Guess the Breed

As I anxiously await the results of Sierra’s DNA test, some readers have speculated as to her breed mix. So here are a few more photos to help you along. I look forward to hearing your guesses. And by the way, she does have a number of dark spots on her tongue, which are not visible in these photos at this size. Please note that this does not automatically mean she’s part Chow–there are 30 or so breeds that can have those spots!

13 Responses to Guess the Breed

  1. Julie says:

    She’s a very pretty girl. Do you think she might have some shiloh shepherd in her?

  2. ari_1965 says:

    Also, spots on the tongue simply can be birthmarks. I know three purebred champion Golden Retrievers with birth marks on the tongue. AKC doesn’t consider them defects, either.

    My Malinois/Lab cross has spots on his tongue. When he was a pup, he had one visible dot far back in his tongue near the right edge. You could only see it if he yawned. As he grew up, the spot migrated and enlarged. It’s now beautifully centered at the tip of his tongue. I swear it looks like I had him tattooed.

  3. Okay, Nicole, I can now see why you said Sheltie or Collie. So, utilizing the SWAG* method, my current guess is Husky/Sheltie or Collie/and, yes, I’m gonna stick with Corgi πŸ™‚ – g^2

    SWAG = Scientific Wild-@ss Guess

  4. wildewmn says:

    Keep those guesses coming! Love the SWAG method, LOL. πŸ˜‰

    Regarding the “birthmarks,” I’m not sure how you would differentiate between a birthmark and markings in a dog? I wouldn’t think Sierra has multiple “birthmarks” on her tongue so much as that’s just her markings. I haven’t counted, but there’s got to be at least 10. I understand that Goldens are included in the listed breeds that can have spotted markings on the tongue as well. Bet your Golden is beautiful, with his unique “tattoo!”

  5. @K9_Kirsty says:

    I thought I posted a guess earlier, but perhaps my internet was playing up?

    I am useless at this game but shall have a few guesses.

    Keeshond x German Shepherd
    Sheltie x German Shepherd
    Malamute x Keeshond

    Or maybe Belgian Shepherd, Eurasier or Norweigan Elkhound?

  6. Laura says:

    I’m not sure what Sierra is, but don’t hang everything on the Wisdom Panel. I think that when you send in a blood test and there isn’t enough of a breed or breeds they can test for they make stuff up so you feel you got your money’s worth.

    Everyone’s guess about my dog Sammy is that he’s mostly foxhound. They can’t test for foxhound yet, so the breeds they sent back were so far off it may as well have been another dog that was tested. It came back with everything from Boston Terrier to Clumber Spaniel to Irish Wolfhound. And none of them are anything like what he is.

    Unfortunately, spots on the tongue aren’t something you can count on to determine breed. My mother’s pure bred St. Poodle has spots on his tongue, and I’ve seen them on Labs & Goldens and GSDs as well.

    Regardless, she’s a very cute girl and she’s lucky to have found you & CC.

    • wildewmn says:

      Laura, of course you’re right about the Wisdom panel. There are not enough genetic markers yet to identify every breed. I understand there are levels of certainty depending on percentage of specific breeds–still, nothing will be 100% at this point. I can see how if a breed isn’t present, you could end up with something totally out of the ballpark! And having seen your Sammy, I don’t quite see any of those breeds in him! Agreed too btw about spots on the tongue (per my previous comment about how over 30 breed can have spotted tongues). Thanks, and we’re lucky to have found her too. πŸ™‚

  7. DC says:

    Looks like a Native American Indian Dog, or a NAID x Australian Shepherd

  8. Jennifer says:

    If she was at our shelter and I had to guess, I’d say Australian Shepherd and Husky. She’s a very beautiful dog, whatever she is!

  9. Shiva Wolfe says:

    Sierra is a beautiful girl! And she looks not a little like my adopted Aussie x wolf, floofy tail and all. πŸ™‚ Do you know if any of the DNA tests test for wolf?

    • wildewmn says:

      I bet your girl is beautiful. πŸ™‚ And yes, Sierra has a bit of a wolfy look to her…but no, this particular test definitely does not pick up wolf or any other type of wild ancestry, and as far as I know, none of the others do yet either.

  10. Apple says:

    Hmmn… I’m going with Australian shepherd x Belgian Tervuren.

  11. SleepyShadow says:

    She looks much like one of the Coyote that we have running around in my area lol. (Well with long hair that is).

    I like the Eurasier mix guess but I doubt that is a breed included on the DNA testing yet.

