Oh No’s and Photos

I’ve been down these last few weeks with whatever it seems everybody else has right now. As a friend who had it recently said, “You feel like a steaming pile of dog poo.” That about sums it up. And so, being sick for the past few weeks has prevented me from being able to take the dogs out in the mornings—you know it’s been bad if I’m skipping their walks! Thankfully, my husband has been filling in.

My husband came back from the first walk remarking, “Wow, I can see all the work you’ve done with Bodhi! When we passed other dogs, he put himself by my side and looked at me. No more lunging or barking!” That was great to hear. But then he went on to relay that each time they passed another dog, Sierra snapped and snarked at Bodhi. Noooo! That’s how we started out way back when. Actually, it was worse than that, because back then she’d actually attack him, he’d retaliate, and I’d be left trying to separate the two of them while simultaneously untangling leashes and keeping my fingers intact. Nowadays Bodhi doesn’t retaliate, and just tries to stay out of Sierra’s way. While that’s an improvement, Sierra’s behavior is still dismaying. Of course, it doesn’t help that my husband refuses to take treats and do some training (yes, I know—what kind of trainer am I that I can’t train my husband?!), so apparently I’m going to need to do more work with Sierra before things really carry over.

On a happier note, I finally got a “real” camera – a digital SLR. I look forward to learning, because right now my level of technical expertise is…well, as I told a friend recently, I don’t know an f stop from a bus stop. But I’m going to learn. In the meantime, there are always the auto modes and hopefully a bit of an intuitive feel for what makes a good shot. It’s been interesting to capture action shots and see the lightning-fast body language and facial expressions that are easy to miss with the naked eye. And as for portraits, they’re made easier by the fact that my subjects aren’t exactly hard on the eyes. I look forward to experimenting with action shots, portraits, and more once I can get out and about to some scenic places.

In the meantime, here are a few shots taken around here.

Canon Bodhi snarl at Sierra play crop smallCanon jawspar Sierra gapes crop small
Canon Sierra ramp portrait smaller eyesCanon closeup ramp sly small

6 Responses to Oh No’s and Photos

  1. Karen says:

    Have fun with the new camera! Wish I could afford an SLR cause I sure miss some great shots with my simple digital camera.

  2. Jen Burklow says:

    Know exactly what you mean about husbands being harder to train! But after nearly four years he’s finally learned to carry treats with him and use them. Hang in there. I could happen!

  3. Elaine says:

    I am having this same problem with my female Boston Lily. She attacks my male Boston Dougie when he reacts to something. Rayna came last week and gave me some good things to do to stop the aggression. I feel so bad for my Dougie. He tries so hard to stay out of her way, but the tension just builds with her.

  4. Evelyn Haskins says:

    So you COULD sy, “It’s not the dogs, it’s the husband” 🙂

    Actually Husbands are shy nervous creatures and you need to be VERY subtle when training them 🙂

    Cheers 🙂

  5. vicki1210 says:

    Your pictures are perfect. That is a great camera.

  6. Susan says:

    In my experience, dogs are far more capable of understanding and retaining training than hubby’s…and I can’t exactly carry a t-bone around in my pocket 24/7 to get the hubby to heal!

