What Wobbles and is a Big Hit at My House?

There’s a new toy in town, and it’s called the Kong Wobbler. It’s not actually brand new, and I’d been thinking for a while that it looked like a promising, fun way to keep Sierra occupied. Then someone sent me one as a gift! After Sierra and I finished holding paws, dancing around, and singing, “It’s Christmas for Dogs!” we got down to trying it out.

The Wobbler is made of hard red plastic and is ingeniously designed. It’s weighted on the bottom, which causes it to wobble, much like those plastic air-filled clown punching bags when we were kids. Or, for those of you as old as me—sing along, now—“Weebles wobble but they don’t fall down.” Well, neither does the Kong Wobbler. And it’s easy to prepare, which is a must in this house. You simply unscrew the bottom, place the treats on the little inner platform, and then screw the top back on. We used cut up baby carrots and some small freeze-dried salmon treats.

Naturally, I took some video footage of Sierra trying it out. She did have a moment right at the start where she wasn’t sure what to do, but after I tipped the toy over and food fell out, the bone-shaped light bulb went on over her head. I have to admit that when I first saw the toy I thought maybe it was too big for her, but as it turns out, it’s perfect. Sierra tried a few times to get the entire top of the Wobbler into her mouth, which didn’t work out very well, so she went back to using her nose and paws to maneuver it. This would be an especially wonderful toy for dogs who are paw-oriented, but I think most dogs would enjoy it regardless.

I love the Kong Wobbler, and I can tell Sierra does too. This is one toy we’ll be playing with for a long time to come.

8 Responses to What Wobbles and is a Big Hit at My House?

  1. Lori says:

    That looks like a lot of fun. I’m going to pet shop today and get one for my old english sheepdog, Wild. It looks easier to clean then the other kongs.

  2. Lori says:

    I bought it yesterday and It is a big hit. My dog wild uses her head more than Sierra in knocking it around. It works great, it’s her new favorite toy. Thanks for the review.

  3. I’ve been debating whether to get the Kong wobbler for Penny as well. My only concern is that it might be too big for her but I know that she would have a lot of fun with it. I wonder if it will wobble as well on carpet…it probably would be a lot quieter than rolling around on hard wood or tile floors. Watching the video, I’d say that it would work well for dogs that are “nose-oriented”, like Penny, who will roll her treat ball back and forth across the floor with her nose to get something to fall out. 😀

    • Nicole Wilde says:

      Lori, I’m glad your OES is enjoying the Wobbler! And Pennysplayground, I checked out some videos on Youtube of different dogs playing with it and there was a pug who seemed to be able to knock it around very well. I’m sure Penny will do fine, too. And yes, it seems like it’d be better on carpet (as long as it’s not high shag or something) as far as noise levels.

      Sierra is always happy to let other dogs know about something new and fun! 🙂

  4. Hi…sorry I didn’t realize that my login was the name of my blog until you replied. My real life name is Jon. Next time I’ll have to log out and login under my “correct” name. 😀

  5. I went and bought the Kong Wobbler for Penny today. I was wishing they made a mini-wobbler for smaller dogs as it seems a bit big for Penny.

    As expected, she barked at it for about a minute or two when I showed her that it wobbled (I guess I’d get a bit surprised if I walked into my living room and their was a life-sized bobo doll rolling around), but once I showed her how if I push it then eventually a treat would come out she became more curious.

    She seems to not be so afraid of it, but she won’t actually play with it either. She will come around and gobble up the treats that fall out if I make it wobble around the floor, but she has yet to roll it around on her own. I guess she’s pretty smart…she taught me how to do a new trick…I roll the Wobbler and she gets a free treat…! 😀

    • Nicole Wilde says:

      Hi Jon,

      I’d stuff the Wobbler with super yummy treats that Penny doesn’t normally get, maybe push it once so she can see they’ll fall out (as you’ve been doing), then actually leave the area. Some dogs are more apt to investigate new things without us pesky humans standing around trying to encourage them. If she doesn’t, I’d leave it out so she can get used to it. Hopefully she’ll eventually get into it. But LOL about her teaching you a new trick! 😉

      Nicole

  6. Elise Martha says:

    Thanks for the article. I really enjoyed the readt.